First Grade

  1. Language Arts: The curriculum includes phonics, phonemic awareness, vocabulary, comprehension, fluency, and writing.
    1. Reading & Writing Curricula Series: Into Reading by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
    2. Indiana Academic Standards for Language Arts
    3. Remedial programs for literacy are provided at all elementary schools, grades K-6 through the MTSS (Multi-Tiered Systems of Support) with Tier 2 & 3 research-based intervention materials. 
  2. Mathematics: The curriculum is designed to develop a conceptual understanding of mathematical content and the ways in which student synthesize and apply mathematical skills. While developing basic skills necessary to master content at higher levels.
    1. Scope and Sequence
    2. Math Series: Reveal Math by McGraw Hill
    3. Indiana Academic Standards for Math
  3. Science: The curriculum is inquiry-based instruction with hands-on learning opportunities through STEAM Class (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Mathematics)
    1. Scope and Sequence
    2. Science Series: Project Lead the Way in STEAM Class
    3. Indiana Academic Standards for Science
  4. Social Studies: The curriculum is designed for student to examine their own environment, distinguishing between past and present events, developing a sense of time. Students learn about being responsible citizens and begin to understand the characteristics of school and community. Students understand the different jobs people perform in their community.
    1. Scope and Sequence
    2. Social Studies Series: McMillan/McGraw Hill
    3. Indiana Academic Standards for Social Studies